Hawaii Residency Programs

Peter C. -P. Char Award

Peter C. -P. Char Award

Evans 2
2017 Awardee
Congratulations to Samuel Evans, MD, Program Director for the Transitional Year (TY) Residency Program!

Dr. Evans has been the TY Residency Program Director for the past seven years and is the recipient of multiple awards including the 2016 Straub Medical Center Strode Award for Excellence in Clinical Care and Patient Satisfaction. Between 2013-2016 he was named by Honolulu Magazine as Hawaii's Best Physician in Pulmonary-Critical Care. We recognize Dr. Evans not only for his calm and motivating spirirt of inquiry and excellence, but also for his continued committment to patient safety and the education of his residents. Dr. Evans is the embodiment of the spirit of Mr. Char as they can both be classified as, "a rock, a pillar of integrity and a man who lived committed to his community and family."

Peter C. -P. Char was a highly respected attorney who represented residents and fellows in medical liability issues for over 15 years. Mr. Char was born and raised in Honolulu, Hawaii. He received his B.A. degree from Yale College and his J.D. from Northwestern University School of Law. Mr. Char dedicated much of his practice to the defense and education of medical residents in the areas of risk management and medical malpractice. His memorial fund has been designated to honor residency program directors who exhibit excellence in teaching and dedication to graduate medical education, as Mr. Char did for most of his professional life. A $1,000 award will be given annually to a program director nominated by his or her colleagues and trainees and selected by the HRP Board of Directors.

Past Recipients

2016 Robert Hong, M.D., Cardiovascular Disease Fellowship Program


Shilpa J. Patel, M.D., Pediatric Residency Program

2014 Mark Hiraoka, M.D., Obstetrics and Gynecology Residency Program
David Shimizu, M.D., Pathology Residency Program
2013 Robert Hong, M.D., Cardiovascular Disease Fellowship Program
2012 Courtenay Matsu, M.D., Psychiatry Residency Program
2011 None
2010 David Shimizu, M.D., Pathology Residency Program
2009 None
2008 Kamal Masaki, M.D., Geriatric Medicine Fellowship Program
2007 Erlaine Bello, M.D., Internal Medicine Residency Program
2006 John Hardman, M.D., Pathology Residency Program
2005 D. Christian Derauf, M.D., Pediatric Residency Program
2004 Tod Aeby, M.D., Obstetrics and Gynecology Residency Program

Home  -   NI Login  -   ELM Login  -   ACGME Login  -   Contact
Copyright 2015 - Hawaii Residency Programs
Log In / Log Out - Tutorials - Image Resizer
site by: Hawaii Web Design Studio